Meet the judges: Juan Lopez

Juan Lopez is one of the judges for the print competition on April 16th.

I was born in LA, grew up in Miami, went to UM. He started at The Miami Herald as a graphics intern while a junior at UM. I graduated fromUM, went to Poynter for summer graphics fellowship, came back to Miami, freelanced for a year at The Herald then went to work for El Nuevo Herald as Features Designer.
I left El Nuevo Herald in 1993, went to work for the LA Times as the art director for Nuestro Tiempo weekly Spanish tab. I left LA in 1994 and came back to the Herald, then in 1997 moved to New Jersey (pre-Jersey Shore, but right at the beginning of The Sopranos) and worked for The Star Ledger in Newark as a features / sports designer.

I came back to the Miami Herald in 1998 as a features designer. Now, I’m a Senior Features Design Editor. My job is a meld designer and manager of four features designers.

I live on South Beach, drive a Mini-Cooper, love music (From Madonna to Lana Del Rey to Jay-Z), and I am also a reality show fanatic and anything pop culture related. Graphic design is my life…I love typography, long walks on the beach and Iced Venti Soy Chais.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

